“We need to research, educate, listen to, and understand each other. It is hard to imagine social progress anywhere that wasn’t dependent on freedom of speech.”

Erwin Chemerinsky, Dean of UC Berkeley School of Law

The National Center for Free Speech and Civic Engagement at the University of California is chaired by UC President Napolitano and governed by two advisory boards.

The National Advisory Board is responsible for providing guidance to the Center’s Executive Director and UC senior officials overseeing the work of the Center, to ensure that it is advancing its mission with high quality and high impact programming and activities. It is co-chaired by UC Berkeley Law Dean Erwin Chemerinsky and UC Irvine Chancellor Howard Gillman.

The Academic Advisory Board includes professors representing a variety of disciplines across all ten UC campuses. They will assist in the creation of the Center’s project priorities and future selection of fellows. Members will serve as liaisons between their university and the fellow that is in residence for one week on their campus.

National Advisory Board Chair

Michael V. Drake

President, University of California

National Advisory Board Co-chairs

Erwin Chemerinsky

Erwin Chemerinsky

Dean, UC Berkeley School of Law

Howard Gillman

Howard Gillman

Chancellor, University of California, Irvine

Executive Director

Michelle Deutchman

Michelle Deutchman

Executive Director m.deutchman@uci.edu

Executive Assistant

Brenda Pitcher

Executive Assistant bpitcher@uci.edu

National Advisory Board

Harvey Brody

Harvey Brody

UC Regent Emeritus

Vijaya Gadde

Vijaya Gadde

General Counsel, Twitter

Tamara Keith

Tamara Keith

White House Correspondent, NPR

John King

John King

President and CEO, The Education Trust; Former U.S. Secretary of Education

Anne Kornblut

Director, New Initiatives for News Partnerships, Facebook

Monica C. Lozano

President and CEO, College Futures Foundation

Avi Oved

Avi Oved

Student, UCLA Law School

Bret Stephens

Bret Stephens

Columnist, New York Times

Geoffrey R. Stone

Geoffrey R. Stone

Professor, University of Chicago Law School

George Will

George Will

Columnist, Washington Post

Academic Advisory Board

Ahmad Atif Ahmad

UC Santa Barbara - Professor, Religious Studies; Chair of the Council on Faculty Welfare, Academic Freedom, and Awards

Amy Binder

UC San Diego - Professor, Sociology

Simone E. Chambers

UC Irvine - Professor, Political Science

Michael Mark Cohen

UC Berkeley - Associate Teaching Professor, African American Studies & African Diaspora Studies

Lee G. Cooper

UC Los Angeles Anderson School - Professor Emeritus

John Ganim

UC Riverside - Distinguished Professor, English

Jody Greene

UC Santa Cruz - Associate Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning; Director of the Center for Innovations in Teaching and Learning; Professor of Literature

David Kaye

UC Irvine - Clinical Professor, Law

Suneil K. Koliwad

UC San Francisco - Associate Professor, Medicine, Diabetes Center; Gerold Grodsky, PhD/JAB Chair in Diabetes Research

Dana Nelkin

UC San Diego - Professor, Philosophy

Constance Penley

UC Santa Barbara - Professor, Film and Media Studies

Mary Beth Pudup

UC Santa Cruz - Director and Associate Professor, Community Studies Program

Nella Van Dyke

UC Merced - Professor, Sociology

John Villasenor

UC Los Angeles - Professor, Electrical Engineering, Law, Public Policy & Management

Eugene Volokh

UC Los Angeles - Gary T. Schwartz Distinguished Professor of Law

Keith David Watenpaugh

UC Davis - Professor and Director, Human Rights Studies