UPCOMING EVENTS

Wednesday, July 21 @ 12 PM PT (3 PM ET)
“Tweets, Threats and Censorship: Supporting Faculty through Incidents of Targeted Harassment”
Featuring: Nina M. Flores

The targeted harassment of faculty for their scholarship, teaching, and more by members of the public is an ongoing issue. 2020-21 Center fellow, Nina M. Flores, Assistant Professor of Social and Cultural Analysis of Education at California State University Long Beach spent the past year interviewing scholars who were targets of harassment by individuals, groups, and organizations. She examined campus responses, the types of formal and informal support faculty received, the implications for silencing and self-censorship, and developed a series of information and strategy sessions designed for use by individual faculty members or their institutions. In this workshop, Nina will be joined by Jonathan Graubart, Professor of political science at San Diego State University, who will share his personal experience being targeted after a social media post went viral.

REGISTER NOW!

 


Thursday, August 19 @ 12 PM PT (3 PM ET)
“Beyond Skokie: Speech in the Age of Hate”
Featuring: Ryan Coonerty

Wednesday, September 22 @ 11 AM PT (2 PM ET)
“Politics on Campus: How Political Polarization Shapes Students’ Speech and Civic Engagement”
Featuring: Nicholas Havey and Elizabeth Niehaus

October I – Date & Time TBD
“Make Your Voice Heard: Undocumented Students at UC, Free Speech, Civic and Political Engagement”
Featuring: Ernesto Arciniega

October II – Date & Time TBD
“Administrator Balancing Acts: Free Speech, Diversity and Identity”
Featuring: Cerri Banks and Jennifer Lambe


 

Stay in the loop to be the first to know about future events. Sign up for our mailing list:


Related Resources